By: CJ Ramsaran

Relationships, they are a funny little thing.  Each time we feel that we’ve read every article, book, magazine, or seen every documentary or panel on the subject, we find out that….. there’s still so much more to learn!

Relationships: Wants vs Needs

A friend of mine recently made the statement “Do I want someone in my life – yes! Do I need someone in my life – no!  If I need someone, that means I am dependent on them, and I’m not dependent on anyone.  Other than your parents and your children, you don’t need anyone in your life”  This is how they summed it up; with shiny wrapping paper and the big red bow!

The same friend continued on to further state “that having a partner/spouse is a “nice-to-have” but not a “must-have.  They serve a purpose; satisfying or fulfilling some need, however, they do not, and I repeat, do not sustain me”.

What are your thoughts?  Do you agree or disagree?

I would like to think that having a partner/spouse in your life is much more than someone satisfying a want.  When two souls connect, complimenting, and often in most instances, enhancing the life of someone else…. it shifts from a want to a need. 

What happened to “I need you because you encourage me to grow and develop… I need you because you help to make me a better person…. I need you because you help me to recognize and attain my truest potential… or I need you, simply because you give a damn and take the time to care!   Does this not count for anything?

Or better yet, shouldn’t the fact that God saw that man was lonely and created woman to satisfy that need for companionship, not tell you something!  No one is an island!

“Do you want or need him/her in your life”?  Think about it, and I mean really think about it… what will your answer be?

